



NATIONAL ACADEMIES – U.S. INSTITUTE OF PEACE ROUNDTABLE ON TECHNOLOGY, SCIENCE, AND PEACEBUILDING

Second Meeting
December 12, 2011
USIP Headquarters Building
Washington, D.C.

ATTENDEES

Roundtable Co-Chairs

Richard Solomon

President U.S. Institute of Peace

Charles M. Vest

President National Academy of Engineering

Roundtable Attendees

Pamela Aall

Provost, Academy for International Conflict Management and Peacebuilding U.S. Institute of Peace

Salah Abdelhamid

Vice President, Enterprise Technology CH2M HILL

Gregor Bailar

CIO (ret.) Capital One Financial Corporation

The Honorable Ann Bartuska

Deputy Under Secretary for Research, Education, and Economics U.S. Department of Agriculture

Cathleen Campbell

President and CEO CRDF Global

W. Peter Cherry

Chief Analyst (ret.) SAIC, Inc.

William Colglazier

Science & Technology Adviser to the Secretary of State U.S. Department of State

Phil Coyle

Associate Director for National Security and International Affairs White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Jack Duvall

President International Center on Nonviolent Conflict

Mark Epstein

Senior Vice President Qualcomm, Inc.

Melanie Greenberg

President and CEO Alliance for Peacebuilding

Jennifer Leonard

Washington Advocacy Director International Crisis Group

John Marks

President and Founder Search for Common Ground

The Honorable Maria Otero

Under Secretary of State for Diplomacy and Global Affairs U.S. Department of State

Robert Ricigliano (by telephone)

Chairman of the Board Alliance for Peacebuilding

The Honorable Benjamin Riley

Primary Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Rapid Fielding U.S. Department of Defense

Susan Ritchie

Senior Advisor, Bureau of International Information Programs U.S. Department of State

Elmer Roman

Oversight Executive U.S. Department of Defense

Nigel Snoad

Product Manager Google, Inc.

Laura Stubbs

Director for Requirements and Strategic Integration U.S. Department of Defense

Fred Tipson

UNDP/ USIP Jennings Randolph Senior Fellow

Linton Wells

Director, Center for Technology and National Security Policy National Defense University

The Honorable Catherine Woteki

Under Secretary for Research, Education, and EconomicsU.S. Department of Agriculture

Expert Attendees

Beth Cole

Director of Intergovernmental Affairs U.S. Institute of Peace

Thom Feroah

Observer Alliance for Peacebuilding

Mark Hainsey

Project Leader U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Harry Knight

Project Leader U.S. Agency for International Development

Hiram Larew

Director of International Programs, NIFA U.S. Department of Agriculture

Jason Matheny

Program Manager, Office of Incisive Analysis IARPA

Michael McGirr

National Project Leader, NIFA U.S. Department of Agriculture

Member Staff Attendees

Brendan Doherty

Special Assistant to the Under Secretary of State for Democracy and Global Affairs U.S. Department of State

Kathy Giles-Diaz

Public Affairs Officer, Office for Democracy and Global Affairs U.S. Department of State

Capt. Lewin Wright

Military Assistant for Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense, Rapid Fielding U.S. Navy

Roundtable Secretariat and Staff Attendees

Virginia Bacon Talati

Associate Program Officer National Research Council

Geneve Bergeron

Research Assistant U.S. Institute of Peace

Sheldon Himelfarb

Center of Innovation: Science, Technology & Peacebuilding
U.S. Institute of Peace

Subhash Kuvelker

Study Director and Senior Program Officer National Academy of Sciences

Matthew Levinger

Senior Program Officer U.S. Institute of Peace

Christine Mosher

Program Assistant U.S. Institute of Peace

Greg Pearson

Senior Program Officer National Academy of Engineering

Proctor Reid

Program Office National Academy of Engineering

Andrew Robertson

Senior Program Officer U.S. Institute of Peace

Anand Varghese

Program Specialist U.S. Institute of Peace